World Car of the Year finalists announced

Share on Facebook
Share on LinkedIn
Words: Nile Bijoux
8 Feb 2019

The finalists for World Car of the Year have been announced.

The first edition of the WCOTY was held in 2005, with the Audi A6 of the year coming out on top. Since then the top gong has gone to a range of cars like the Mazda2 and the Nissan Leaf, and this year promises to be similarly inclusive.

The ten shortlisted models are: the Audi e-tron, BMW 3 Series, Ford Focus, Genesis G70, Hyundai Nexo, Jaguar I-Pace, Mercedes-Benz A-Class, Suzuki Jimny, Volvo S60 (and the V60 wagon version), and the Volvo XC40.

There are a few interesting models there. Cars like the new 3 Series, Focus, and the Volvo siblings aren’t entirely surprising but WCOTY has given the nod to the hydrogen-powered Nexo, electric e-tron and Jaguar I-Pace. The e-tron and I-Pace should both dot down here this year while the Nexo hasn’t been confirmed for our market and, given the lack of hydrogen infrastructure, likely won’t make it here.

However, the real standout is the Suzuki Jimny. It scored just three ANCAP safety stars and doesn’t really push the envelope in terms of technology or style. It does, however, offer a large amount of fun in a diminutive and cheap package.

The WCOTY isn’t the only prize at the awards ceremony either. Check out the full list of finalists per category below.

Design of the Year

Citroen C5 Aircross

Jaguar E Pace

Jaguar I Pace

Suzuki Jimny

Volvo XC40

Luxury Car

Audi A7

Audi Q8

BMW 8 Series

Mercedes-Benz CLS

Volkswagen Touareg

Performance Car

Aston Martin Vantage

BMW M2 Competition

Hyundai Veloster N

McLaren 720S

Mercedes-AMG GT 4-door coupe

Urban Car finalists

Audi A1

Hyundai Santro

Kia Soul

Seat Arona

Suzuki Jimny

Green Car finalists

Audi e-tron

Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid

Hyundai Nexo

Jaguar I-Pace

Kia Niro EV



Peugeot 508 GT

NZ Autocar Enewsletter

Follow us

Peugeot 508 GT

More news